Ideas in Graphic Design Today

by tom

I’m going to look at what some of today’s leading designers think constitutes design, ‘good design’ and terrible design. I want to look at what informs their decisions through the creative process and how design today is different to yesterday.

I’ve done a small amount of research and it seems that discussions about type elicit the strongest views. I have a feeling this is because type as an expressive medium is so restricted designers are forced to make serious intellectual choices about what it means to have a variation in ascender width – sort of like how in the helvetica doc people interpreted the type socially, politically, ethically ect and arrived at completely contradictory viewpoints.

So I’m going to start looking at type design today as an entry point into the broader question of what ideas are underlying design today.